board of directors

Canadian Blood Services is a national, not-for-profit, charitable organization operating at arm's length from governments.

Mel Cappe appointed as chair of Canadian Blood Services board of directors

Members of the public are invited to attend in person, or view online.

December 11, 2014 (CANADA) – Provincial and territorial Ministers of Health elected three new representatives to the Canadian Blood Services Board of Directors. The new directors officially began their four-year terms on Oct.1, 2014. A paediatrician with the IWK Health Centre in Halifax, Dr. Jeff Scott joins the board as the Regional Representative for Atlantic Canada. He is also an investigator of health policy translation with the Canadian Centre for Vaccinology and was a former chair of the Council of Chief Medical Officers of Health. Dr. Kevin W. Glasgow of Toronto was CEO of the Crohn’s

October 28, 2013 (OTTAWA) - Provincial and territorial Ministers of Health (except Quebec) announce today the public release of a recent independent performance review of Canadian Blood Services. This review, conducted by Ernst and Young, and covering the years April 2008 to March 2012, was commissioned at the request of the Chair of the Board of Directors for Canadian Blood Services, with the approval of provincial and territorial Ministers of Health as Corporate Members of the organization. Overall, the review found the blood system and related activities to be safe and well run, and that

Canadian Blood Services congratulates board chair Leah Hollins on honourary doctor of laws from University of Manitoba May 16, 2014 (Winnipeg) - There’s a new doctor on Canadian Blood Services’ board of directors. Yesterday, Leah Hollins, the board’s chair, was awarded an honourary doctor of laws from the University of Manitoba. Leah received the honour during the faculty of medicine convocation ceremony in Winnipeg. “Leah’s game-changing ideas, passion for collaboration and trailblazing success in shifting the way Canadians donate organs bring distinction to the University of Manitoba. We are